The Free University of Bozen-Bolzano is South Tyrol’s multilingual and internationally oriented institution of higher education. The university, founded in 1997, currently has five faculties: Computer Science, Economics and Management, Education, Design and Art, and Science and Technology. With the exception of the Faculty of Education, which is based in Brixen-Bressanone, all of the faculties are located in Bozen-Bolzano. All lectures are conducted in one of three languages: Italian, German or English. Research is also trilingual. The students, who to date hail from more than 60 countries, need to have mastered at least two of the three languages prior to their entrance; customised courses at the in-house language centre facilitate acquisition of the third language. The word “free” in the name of the university refers to the type of university, not to fees: regular tuition at the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano is € 1,282.50 per academic year. Students must pre-enrol before the actual enrolment begins at the start of each semester.