Under certain circumstances, student grants, grants for postgraduate training and internships, and merit scholarships are available for students at universities, colleges or equivalent institutions in South Tyrol. The grants are awarded through public competitions. EU citizens are eligible as are students from non-EU countries, provided they have a long-term residence permit or have been a resident of South Tyrol for more than one year. More detailed information is available from Department of Education Subsidies, Universities and Research (Ripartizione Diritto allo studio Università e Ricerca scientifica/Abteilung Bildungsförderung, Universität und Forschung).